SPECIAL MEETING AUGUST 23, 2005 MINUTES

The Board of County Commissioners of San Miguel County held a **Special Meeting** on Tuesday, **August 23, 2005** at 8:00 a.m. at the County Manager's Office 500 West National Ave. Suite 100 Las Vegas, New Mexico. The minutes for the meeting are as follows:

CALL TO ORDER

Chairman LeRoy H. Garcia called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m.

ROLL CALL

Chairman LeRoy H. Garcia, Commissioner David R. Salazar and Commissioner Kenneth C. Medina were present. Commissioner Susano Ortiz and Vice-Chairman Hugh H. Ley were absent.

The record will show a quorum was present.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

County Manager Les Montoya submitted the agenda as prepared.

Motion made by Commissioner Kenneth C. Medina to approve agenda as prepared. Second by Commissioner David Salazar. Motion carried.

NEW BUSINESS:

1. ADOPTING RESOLUTION NO. 8-23-2005-F AUTHORIZING PUBLICATION OF A ORDINANCE AUTHORIZING COUNTY TO ENTER INTO A LOAN AGREEMENT WITH NEW MEXICO FINANCE AUTHORITY (NMFA) (DETENTION CENTER IMPROVEMENTS)

Finance Supervisor Melinda Gonzales submitted for approval Resolution No. 8-23-2005-F Authorizing publication of Ordinance authorizing County to enter into a loan agreement with the New Mexico Finance Authority (NMFA) (Detention Center Improvements)

Ms. Gonzales informed the Commission that the loan amount is for \$1,763,889.00 (actual amount that would be received \$1,587,000.00) for the purpose of constructing, purchasing, furnishing, equipping, and rehabilitating, expanding or improving a judicial correctional facility. Discussion ensued.

Motion made by Commissioner Kenneth C. Medina to approve Resolution No. 8-23-2005-F Authorizing publication of Ordinance authorizing County to enter into a loan agreement with the New Mexico Finance Authority (NMFA) (Detention Center Improvements). Second by Commissioner David Salazar. Motion carried.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion made by Commissioner David Salazar to adjourn. Second by Commissioner Kenneth C. Medina. Motion carried.

The record will show the time is 8:20 a.m.

Approved this ______day of _____, 2005 as the Official Minutes of the Board of County Commissioners of San Miguel County, New Mexico.

LeRoy H. Garcia, Chairman

Hugh H. Ley, Vice-Chairman

David R. Salazar Commissioner

Kenneth C. Medina, Commissioner

Susano F. Ortiz, Commissioner

ATTEST

Paul Maez, County Clerk

Minutes Submitted by: Geraldine E. Gutierrez